10-08-2007, 11:29 | #11 | |
HOMO-Sapien
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 6,692
|
Quote:
Don't suppouse you have any pointers for those scripts by any chance?
__________________
I just got lost in thought.. It was very unfamiliar territory. Techie Talk | My gaming Blog | PC spec | The Admirals log |
|
10-08-2007, 11:45 | #12 |
The Stig
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Swad!
Posts: 10,713
|
Well, doing it in VBScript would be easier, but it should be possible in a batch script. Working backwards, XP already has a command for local and remote shutdown (called 'shutdown' oddly enough), if Acronis runs scheduled it would just be a case of copying and pasting the command from the task it creates and calling it with "start /wait 'c:\program files\acronis\blah blah' " in a batch script. You'll need a basic 'wait' or 'sleep' application (you can find 'sleep' in UnxUtils, and its as easy as 'sleep 5' to wait 5 seconds), and last but not least something to do the wake on lan - something like this perhaps.
Rough mockup (this wont work): Code:
@echo off REM Wake up the target MC-WOL 00:22:33:AA:DD:EE REM Wait a couple of minutes sleep 120 REM Start Acronis and wait for it to finish start /wait 'C:\Program Files\Acronis\Acronis.exe some arguments here' REM We're done, so shutdown the target - needs a valid IP address shutdown -s -f -t 05 -m \\192.168.1.5 REM And finally, shutdown this machine shutdown -s -f -t 05 REM Finished exit
__________________
apt-get moo |
10-08-2007, 12:19 | #13 |
HOMO-Sapien
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 6,692
|
That's great cheers Daz, appears to be simple enough.. I'll give that a bash later.. Oh damn I'm packing haha..
Actually, I think I remember that Acrconis can run a script before running the scheduled job.. I'll have to check. If that's the cae, I can just jun a delay or sleep for 5 minutes before the backups start.
__________________
I just got lost in thought.. It was very unfamiliar territory. Techie Talk | My gaming Blog | PC spec | The Admirals log |