25-02-2008, 08:48 | #51 |
Joey Tempest
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gravesend.
Posts: 2,751
|
I'd like to hear semi-pro wasters viewpoint on this, as he is a vegetarian for the reason of just not liking the taste of meat/just not wanting it. not some ethical "meat is murder" reason.
__________________
No Sig. |
25-02-2008, 09:11 | #52 |
Pole Model
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,986
|
Stan, I became veggie 21 years ago but vegan 14 years ago and have never had any trouble eating out anywhere or buying food.
Things have definitely got easier due to a lot more products having a veggie or vegan stamp on them so a lot of the time I just have to look for the veggie symbol and check the allergy warning to discover if I can eat it. You'd be very surprised just how many vegan products you use every day without realising it. I have never been to a restaurant that didn't offer jacket potato and salad as an option and seeing as that is one of my favourite meals I'm sorted! I also tend to eat in chinese and indian restaurants where both serve a lot of vegetable options so again I'm catered for. Also due to a more health conscious food industry in the last 20 years use of animal fat has been reduced in a lot of products. I remember buying bread that had it in once! These days most indian restaurants use vegetable ghee rather than dairy and more veg oil is used in mass production so that companies can claim their product is lower in saturated fat. It has definitely improved with most supermarkets/restaurants offering veggie options and clearer ingredient listing on goods.
__________________
I fell out of favour with Heaven somewhere, and I'm here for the hell of it now... Last edited by Roberta; 25-02-2008 at 09:16. |
25-02-2008, 09:22 | #53 | |
Abandoned Ship
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 335
|
Quote:
if we're buying something new, or even just switching brands - it does involve a bit of lable reading - i probably annoy people in the supermarkets. things that you would maybe presume to be vegetarian quite often aren't - why bother having a 'meat free cheese and onion slice' that still has non-veggie cheese in? through my job i get quite a lot of chocolates / biscuits given to me, and it's awful not being able to eat most of them. i stick to green and blacks / cadbury / hotel chocolate - where i know they'll be labeled as veggie friendly if i can eat them. i'm still boycotting mars - even though their products are 'technically' suitable for veggies - as they applied for veg society status and didn't get it due to the fact that they only use battery farmed eggs. anything with red food colouring in is also difficult - we can't have anything with E120 in. other sneaky ingredient we have to look out for is 'whey'. beer / wine is also pretty tough - Jasper is fine because 99.9% of cider is veggie, but lagers and wines are more difficult. grolsch = veggie, stella = not veggie - if this wasn't something you actively looked into, why would you presume their ingredients would be that different? luckily there is a fantastic site (this fantastic site here) that jasper has saved on his phone for such emergencies the other really difficult thing is when you are offered food / drink / even just a biscuit at someone elses house - it's often easier to turn them down that say 'can i read the box' - |
|
25-02-2008, 09:55 | #54 | ||
Stan, Stan the FLASHER MAN!
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: In bed with your sister
Posts: 5,483
|
Quote:
Having baked spuds and salad as one of your favourite meals would come in very handy as a Vegan in restaurants I would think Quote:
I never even thought to check alcohol, it never occured to me that animal products would be used to make it. Being a student at the time, I would probably have been most upset to discover this
__________________
Just because I have a short attention span doesn't mean I... |
||
25-02-2008, 10:41 | #55 |
BBx woz 'ere :P
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 2,147,487,208
|
Why is whey considered non vegetarian out of interest? I consume large quantities of it as a supplement for my training.
__________________
No No! |
25-02-2008, 10:55 | #56 |
Pole Model
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,986
|
The rennet they use in processing the whey is often from a non vegetarian source.
Info here if you're really interested! http://www.vegsoc.org/info/cheese.html#manu
__________________
I fell out of favour with Heaven somewhere, and I'm here for the hell of it now... |
25-02-2008, 11:25 | #57 | |
Abandoned Ship
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 335
|
Quote:
(oh yes, something i was thinking about last night is the limited number of medications we can take as they have gelatin in the tablets / capsules... and i also out of choice would not have a live vaccine which had been animal derived - vegetarianism - it's not all about meat!) |
|
25-02-2008, 11:28 | #58 |
BBx woz 'ere :P
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 2,147,487,208
|
I was going to say - the one I get it from is veggie friendly. Thanks for the info though, and to you too Dawn.
__________________
No No! |
25-02-2008, 11:29 | #59 |
Noob
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Socialist Republik of Kent
Posts: 5,032
|
When we go to restaurants it's limiting where we can go. I do have to compromise on where I want to go, especially when we're on holiday. Luckily she's not too fussy with dairy, cheese etc which makes things easier.
__________________
|
25-02-2008, 11:31 | #60 | |
Noob
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Socialist Republik of Kent
Posts: 5,032
|
Quote:
__________________
|
|
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|